Heaven’s New Joy

Dedicated to my grandmother, Barbara Cooper Lane.

Last week, the world lost a precious soul, Lisa Jo Cooper.

Her passing was sudden and unexpected. She is my Grandmother’s youngest child and little sister to my mother and uncle.

As her life was celebrated this week, the word joy was surely said one hundred times or more. Lisa was special from day one. She had more needs than most but really she needed very little.

When I thought of her entrance to Heaven, I tried hard to imagine what it must have been like. Throughout her life, she made the very most of her disabled body. I pray her body is perfect and agile in every way. While she was 51 on the day of her passing, I can’t help but wonder if that is the age in which she’ll live eternally. She always embodied such a childlike spirit, it makes me think she will be forever young.

I’ve watched my Grandmother continue to raise her all these years. Lisa wasn’t a burden, she was gift and treated as such.

Since I was little, I remember Lisa going ga-ga over babies. She just wanted to hold them and tickle under their little arms. She would make her best baby sounds and pretty much nailed it every time.

Audrey didn’t live long enough to meet her Great-Aunt Lisa, but now I realize that is because she would meet her in Heaven.

I imagine my aunt holding my baby…

Both bodies are healed and free of ailment.

Both had special needs.

Both were especially needed by all who knew them.

I watched my Grandmother intensely during Lisa’s celebration of life. I wish she didn’t have to know the feeling of outliving her own daughter.

On different levels, we now share this.

My Grandmother and I both carried and delivered baby girls who lived lives with needs beyond what we even knew we could handle. We both would have given anything to heal our girls. However, neither of us would change a thing about them.

And now, she and I both have sent our daughters to Heaven. Perhaps they were needed more there. They fulfilled their purposes here on earth and together they can live in Heaven and remind us daily to keep the faith…to long for Heaven.

My brother, Justin, exquisitely delivered the service – truly a gift to her family. He reminded us that for believers, death is not to be feared. Death is the beginning of a beautiful eternity. While it is always harder on the ones left behind, we gain perspective and get to use that with our remaining days. Another funeral service I attended recently was for a baby boy who lived a matter of hours after he was born. The man who spoke reminded us that, “…we can grieve deeply while continuing to hope.”

So to you, my dear Grandmother, your baby girl lived life and lived it well. A part of you is now missing from this earth, for this we grieve. And now…she gets Heaven.

Hope for Heaven, today and always.

IMG_0013

Love & Hugs, R

 

8 thoughts on “Heaven’s New Joy

  1. Beautiful. Tears are streaming down my face. Yes. She epitomized joy.

    Thank you for these precious words.

    Are you doing ok?

    Cathy

    On Thursday, February 4, 2016, The Story of Audrey wrote:

    > rleslie84 posted: “Dedicated to my grandmother, Barbara Cooper Lane. Last > week, the world lost a precious soul, Lisa Jo Cooper. Her passing was > sudden and unexpected. She is my Grandmother’s youngest child and little > sister to my mother and uncle. As her life was celebra” >

  2. *Oh. My. Lord. *Tears* This is so so beautiful.*

    *I imagine my aunt holding my baby…*

    *Both bodies are healed and free of ailment.*

    *Both had special needs.*

    *Both were especially needed by all who knew them.*

    On Thu, Feb 4, 2016 at 12:21 PM, The Story of Audrey wrote:

    > rleslie84 posted: “Dedicated to my grandmother, Barbara Cooper Lane. Last > week, the world lost a precious soul, Lisa Jo Cooper. Her passing was > sudden and unexpected. She is my Grandmother’s youngest child and little > sister to my mother and uncle. As her life was celebra” >

  3. Lisa had 51 years to “live out loud” while she taught everyone in her path that joy is always found in the small things, the true things, the people and circumstances that matter most. She saw this, delighted in these things, made a difference in lives on a daily basis.
    Audrey had 81 days to “live out loud” and tho her voice might have been quieter, she also taught those around her that you fight with the strengths you are given.
    Whether we have years or days, voices or simply a will to survive- we can learn from those we are blessed with- to use our days to make a difference in the lives around us
    To Lisa and Audrey-we thank you for all that you taught us and pray that we are good students in the days ahead that we are given.

  4. Blessings to your family as you remember and rejoice over Lisa’s life. What a special person to have had in your life. Thank you for sharing with all of us.

Leave a Reply

