Dress for a Cause: Part One

Dress for a Cause (One)

“It’s a girl!” Those words brought such a smile to my face and warmth in my heart for a million and a half reasons. One of those sweet reasons was the idea of the ribbons, bows, flowers and lace! Cooper is to the age that he wants to dress himself and it usually involves a sports jersey of some sort or perhaps a cape. Perfectly appropriate and SO Cooper. I got excited to have a mini-me just like Chris has with our first little.

Exactly one month passed between learning she was a girl and her initial diagnosis. Just enough time to build our gal the sweetest little newborn wardrobe.

Well, we all know how her story goes. She never did get to wear those onesies, leggings, dresses and more. She was far too little for them and didn’t have the chance to grow into them. I gave away most of the things she never wore, but a few I just couldn’t part with. Her perfect gold mary-janes still sit on the dresser intended to house her clothing and blankets. It seems silly, I suppose, they are just things after all…materials really. Even before I had children of my own, I would drive my full cart of groceries through the infant clothing section at Target, dreaming of a tiny-tutu-wearing-pigtail-sporting-babe.

I’m thankful, I really am. I got my girl and she lived long enough to wear preemie clothes and teensy headbands. Plus, so many of her things have been worn by our beautiful niece, Sophie.

Thankfully, Audrey’s wardrobe isn’t finished…well, not exactly. We’re excited about a new fundraising effort with Wings for Audrey called Dress for a Cause. Several incredibly generous and talented designers have approached us about various items they will design and sell in honor of Audrey.

I know, right?

Part one of Dress for a Cause is brought to you by Joanne Hong of Jolynn Kids New York. Her’s is a line of contemporary childrenswear clothing based out of New York City creating pieces that are sweet, sophisticated, and chic.

Below you will learn a little about why Joanne has chosen to design this dress and include it in her 2015 Fall/Holiday line to honor Audrey and provide hope for future babies in this beautiful way.

++

“Even though I never had the chance to meet sweet baby Audrey, her impact in my life will be forever in my heart.  As I followed Rachel’s blog, her beautiful words brought me comfort, inspiration, strength, and tears of sadness as well as joy.

For my Jolynn kids Fall/Holiday 2015 collection, I knew I wanted to design a dress in honor of Audrey. I was inspired by the photos of Audrey’s room and the skirt Rachel wore to the Celebration of Life service. I wanted the dress to capture Audrey’s beauty and strength as well as her gentle and sweet presence.  

Audrey’s story continues to remind me to appreciate the little things in life, to let go and trust in God’s plan, that family is and always will be one of the most important things in life, and has given me strength and courage to pursue my dreams.  She has touched my life and so many others.  I hope that through her dress, I will not only contribute to her foundation, but also inspire others the way Audrey has inspired me.”Dress1

++

Audrey Dress by Jolynn Kids

Sizes 2-6 $148 (2, 3, 4, 5, 6)

Sizes 7-12 $152 (7, 8, 10, 12)

Click HERE for size chart.

To purchase, contact Joanne Hong directly via email at jolynnkids@gmail.com or visit www.joannehong.com.

Expected to ship no later than Oct 15, 2015 (Holiday 2015 collection)

Payment due at time of shipping (check, PayPal)

Pre-orders for the Audrey dress may be made until end of June. A 3-month lead time is required for production.

Upon placing your order, you will receive an invoice and will be contacted when your order is ready to be shipped.

20% of all sales for the Audrey dress will be donated to Wings for Audrey.

Dress2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dress Details: Pink faille and organza dress with front floral trim and bow detail.

Polyester | Rounded Neckline | Sleeveless | Back Zipper Closure | Fully Lined | Dry Clean | Made in USA

 

4 thoughts on “Dress for a Cause: Part One

  1. I cannot describe the smile on my face reading this post! I love Joanne and all her stuff and the combo of Audrey and her together just seems well perfect! I am hopeful we will be able to order this dress and wear it with such meaning and love in our hearts! Once again my strong and brave friend I am always amazed by your humble heart! Love you! Xoxoxo

  2. Rachel…I’m the mom that wrote you regarding my precious daughter being diagnosed with an aneurysm in the “vein of Galen” shortly after I found out I was carrying my first girl after 3 boys. Sometimes it feels like only yesterday & sometimes it feels like ages ago.
    God has blessed me with a granddaughter & I’m hoping to purchase one of these gorgeous dresses for her. When I give it to her, I will tell her of a little girl named Audrey & the many lives she touched while she was on this earth & the many lives she continues to touch from Heaven. I’ve included my email address so feel free to contact me, if you wish.
    BTW, Your father delivered one of my boys many moons ago. God bless you, dear Rachel!

Leave a Reply

